Bands on Tour

The bands presented here live wholly or partly in Africa, Asia, Latin America or Eastern Europe. They can generally only be booked for multiple concerts at acceptable rates. It is often possible for tours to be financially supported by a grant from SüdKulturFonds. Let us advise you at an early stage!

Maryam Saleh

Egypt - Arabic Psych Rock


The Egyptian singer and composer Maryam Saleh is not unknown in the Arab world. Her pieces are personal, sometimes philosophical and very often political. Her music is characterized by a combination of intelligent lyrics with a powerful and raw voice carried by trip hop and psychedelic rock sounds.

Contact:
Almoharek Cairo (via artlink)

Website

Ami Yéréwolo

Rap artist from Mali


Combine the keywords “woman, rap and Mali” and you will inevitably come up the artist Ami Yéréwolo. Runner up of the RFI 2018 Prize, Ami is currently enjoying great success in Mali and in the regions of Senegal, Burkina Faso and Niger. She is a UFO in an exclusively male world where women are still only employed today as backing singers. She is living an astonishing trajectory, spontaneous and far from the clichés made in the USA. She even confesses that she’d hardly ever heard of rap before she was told one day as a teenager that this is what she was doing. She is the only Malian to have produced her own albums and solo tours.

Contact:
artlink

Website

Leila Gobi

Trance - Electro Touareg

Leila Gobi (voc/ g), Khalil M. Touré (g), Amadou Debélé (b), Abdourhamane Salaha (perc), Matthieu Clara (machine/ perc) 


Together with her band, Leila Gobi – originally from the remote provincial town of Menaka in Sahel, Mali – lends the traditional Tuareg trance a contemporary electro dimension. While she remains true to the music from the desert and the languages Songhai and Tamaschek, her incisive singing prevails in a hypnotic sound universe of beats and electric guitars.

Kontakt:
WAX Booking (via artlink)

Webseite

Tootard

Golan Heights - Mountain Roots Rock
Hasan Nakhleh (voc, git), Rami Nakhleh (dr/elec), Amr Mdah (sax)  


The band Tootard comes from the occupied Golan Heights. Its inhabitants are considered stateless and have an identity document called «Laissez Passer». The title track of the album is about the absurdity of this situation and has received worldwide praise. The band calls their danceable and eclectic music «Mountain Roots Rock», in which influences of Tuareg music and Caribbean rhythms can be heard alongside classical elements of the Levante region. Hasan Nakhleh, the head of the band, has lived and produced in Bern for four years.

Contact:
artlink

Website

 

Jacob Salem & Somkieta

Burkina Faso - Rock Mossi


Jacob Salem left his village in Burkina Faso to find happiness as a rock musician in Ouagadougou. In 2013 he met the Swiss guitarist André «Somkieta» Courbat, who rode his motorbike through Burkina Faso and was looking for local musicians. A fruitful collaboration began, which resulted in «Nanluli», their first album. Traditional rhythms from Jacob‘s region, the singer‘s rock attitude, the influences of Courbat and his Swiss band form a style that is often referred to as «Rock Mossi». 

Contact:
artlink

Website

 

Hawidro

Egypt - Afro-Egyptian


There probably is no suitable genre name for Hawidro’s music. The name of the band means “return” in Nubian, and the band describes its music as Afro-Egyptian. Discovered by Almoharek, an independent agency based in Cairo, Hawidro is a modern, musical recollection of Egyptian culture’s African heritage.

Contact: 
Almoharek Cairo (via artlink)

Webseite

Lekhfa

Egypt - Alternative


Lekhfa is the name of a collaboration project between important figures of the alternative Arab music scene. Maryam Saleh on vocals and guitar, the Palestinian songwriter, singer and multi-instrumentalist Tamer Abu Ghazaleh and the renowned electronics musician and composer Maurice Louca make up the core of the group.

Contact: 
Almoharek Cairo (via artlink)

Website

Robin Thirdfloor

Alternative Hip Hop from Durban


Originally from Durban, Robin Thirdfloor has been brewing for some time on the net and on the sound waves of South Africa and beyond. His pulsating musical layers have given birth to a unique sound of which he alone has the recipe. With his latest EP, ‘Bhotela’, released a few months ago, he surfs the rap style of the rainbow nation and emerges brilliantly, creating a music made of rhythms and rhymes hammered out in a seamless flow (both in English and Zulu). Combining several genres, Kwaito (Soweto House music), hip-hop and gqom (Durban House music), his music depicts the popular and underground culture of Durban. 

Contact:
artlink

Website

Kala Jula

Mali/ Switzerland
Samba Diabaté (git, ngoni), Vincent Zanetti (kora, git, perc)


Kala Jula is a project set between Monthey in Valais and Bamako in Mali. Vincent Zanetti and Samba Diabaté both play guitar and produce a very refined sound that not only delights guitarists. Their pieces are characterised by the kind of guitar playing practised by the Mandinke musicians of West Africa.

Contact:
artlink

Website

Siselabonga

Senegal/Switzerland - Mandingo-Pop
Tarang Cissokho (kora), Glauco Cataldo (voc, git), Fabio Meier (perc)


The young trio Siselabonga consists of guitarist/vocalist Glauco Cataldo and percussionist Fabio Meier (both from Switzerland) and the kora player Tarang Cissokho, who lives in Dakar. In their debut album “Binte”, they combine Mandingo tradition in a playful and melodious way with pop music in a singer-songwriter style.

Contact:
artlink

Website

Trio Kazanchis +2

Ethio jazz punk
Jeroen Visser (keys, sax), Mesele Amamaw (krar/voc), Endris Hassen (masinqo), Christian Weber (bass), Fabien Duscombs (dr)


Trio Kazanchis breaks down style boundaries. A logical consequence when singer and krar player Mesele Asmamaw from Ethiopia meets ex-punk Jeroen Visser (keyboards and saxophone) who lives in Zurich, and French drummer Fabien Duscombs. The musicians met in Addis Ababa. Some years ago, the masenqo player Endris Hassen and bass player Christian Weber also joined the band. The trio then became Kazanchis +2.

Kontakt:
artlink

Webseite

Meduoteran

Serbia/Turkey
Taylan Arikan (baglama), Srdjan Vukasinovic (acc)


Meduoteran is a duo that concentrates on the expressiveness of the two instruments, eliciting sounds from the baglama (Anatolian lute) and accordion that one would hardly expect. Those who experience the two musicians on stage will be captivated by their virtuosity, their instinct for contemporary interpretation of traditional melodies and their joy of playing. They also perform in a trio or quartet.

Contact:
artlink

Website

Bands on Tour

Die hier präsentierten Bands leben ganz oder teilweise in Afrika, Asien, Lateinamerika oder Osteuropa. Sie sind meist nur im Rahmen von mehreren Konzerten mit vernünftigen Kosten zu buchen. Eine Tournee kann oft mit einem Beitrag aus dem SüdKulturFonds unterstützt werden. Lassen Sie sich frühzeitig beraten!

Maryam Saleh

Ägypten - Arabic Psych Rock


Die ägyptische Sängerin und Komponistin Maryam Saleh ist in der arabischen Welt keine Unbekannte. Ihre Stücke sind persönlich, manchmal philosophisch und sehr oft politisch. Die Paarung intelligenter Texte mit einer kraftvollen und rohen Stimme getragen von Trip Hop- und psychedelischen Rocksounds kennzeichnet ihre Musik.

Kontakt:
Almoharek Kairo (via artlink)

Webseite

Ami Yéréwolo

Rapperin aus Mali


Wer die Schlüsselwörter Frau, Rap und Mali eingibt, wird unweigerlich auf die Künstlerin Ami Yéréwolo stossen. Zweitplatzierte im Prix RFI 2018, hat sie zur Zeit grossen Erfolg in Mali und den umliegenden Ländern. Wie ein UFO bewegt sie sich in einem von Männern dominierten Universum, wo Frauen meist einzig als Chorstimmen vorkommen. Ihre bemerkenswerte Laufbahn bewegt sich abseits der Clichés Made in USA; Ami erzählt, zum ersten Mal etwas von Rap gehört zu haben, als man ihr in jungen Jahren sagte, was sie mache sei Rap. Als einzige Künstlerin aus Mali produziert sie ihre Alben und organisiert ihre Tourneen selbst.

Kontakt:
artlink

Webseite

Tootard

Golan Höhen - Mountain Roots Rock
Hasan Nakhleh (voc, git), Rami Nakhleh (dr/elec), Amr Mdah (sax)  


Die Band stammt von den besetzten Golanhöhen. Deren Bewohner gelten als Staatenlose und besitzen ein Ausweisdokument, das „Laissez Passer“ genannt wird. Von der Absurdität dieser Situation handelt das Titelstück ihres Albums, das weltweit lobende Kritiken erhielt. In ihrer tanzbaren Musik sind neben klassischen Elementen der Levante-Region auch Einflüsse der Tuareg-Musik und karibische Rhythmen zu hören. Hasan Nakhleh, Kopf der Band, lebt seit vier Jahren in Bern.

Kontakt:
artlink

Webseite

Jacob Salem & Somkieta

Burkina Faso - Rock Mossi


Jacob Salem verlässt sein Dorf in Burkina Faso, um in Ouagadougou das Glück als Rockmusiker zu finden. Dort begegnet er 2013 dem Schweizer Gitarristen André „Somkieta“ Courbat, der auf seinem Motorrad durchs Land fährt und auf der Suche nach lokalen Musikern ist. Eine fruchtbare Zusammenarbeit beginnt, und mit „Nanluli“ entsteht ihr erstes Album. Traditionelle Rhythmen aus Jacobs Region, die Rock-Attitüde des Sängers, die Einflüsse von Courbat und seiner Schweizer Band formen einen Stil, der gerne als „Rock Mossi“ bezeichnet wird. 

Kontakt:
artlink

Webseite

Hawidro

Ägypten - Afro-Egyptian


Wahrscheinlich gibt es keine geeignete Genrebezeichnung für die Musik von Hawidro . Der Bandname heisst auf Nubisch „Rückkehr“ und ihre Musik bezeichnet die Band selber als „Afro-Egyptian“. Diese Entdeckung aus dem Hause der Kairoer Independent-Agentur Almoharek ist eine moderne, musikalische Rückbesinnung auf das afrikanische Erbe in der ägyptischen Kultur.

Kontakt: 
Almoharek Kairo (via artlink)

Webseite

Lekhfa

Ägypten - Alternative


Lekhfa nennt sich das Kollaborationsprojekt wichtiger Exponenten der alternativen arabischen Musikszene. Den Kern der Gruppe bilden Maryam Saleh an Gesang und Gitarre, der palästinensische Songwriter, Sänger und Multiinstrumentalist Tamer Abu Ghazaleh und der renommierte Elektroniker und Komponist Maurice Louca.

Kontakt: 
Almoharek Kairo (via artlink)

Webseite

Leila Gobi

Trance - Electro Touareg

Leila Gobi (voc/ g), Khalil M. Touré (g), Amadou Debélé (b), Abdourhamane Salaha (perc), Matthieu Clara (machine/ perc) 


Leila Gobi, ursprünglich aus der abgelegenen Provinzstadt Menaka im malischen Sahel, verleiht zusammen mit ihrer Band der traditionellen Tuareg-Trance eine zeitgenössische Elektro-Dimension. Während sie der Musik aus der Wüste und auch den Sprachen Songhai und Tamaschek treu bleibt, setzt sich ihr prägnanter Gesang in einem hypnotischen Universum aus Beats und Stromgitarren durch.

Kontakt:
WAX Booking (via artlink)

Webseite

Trio Kazanchis +2

Ethio jazz punk
Jeroen Visser (keys, sax), Mesele Amamaw (krar/voc), Endris Hassen (masinqo), Christian Weber (bass), Fabien Duscombs (dr)


Trio Kazanchis bricht Stilgrenzen auf. Eine logische Folge, wenn der Sänger und Krarspieler Mesele Asmamaw aus Äthiopien auf den in Zürich wohnhaften Ex-Punk Jeroen Visser (Keyboard und Saxophon) und auf den französischen Drummer Fabien Duscombs trifft. Die Musiker haben sich in Addis Abeba kennen gelernt. Vor einigen Jahren kamen der Masinqo-Spieler Endris Hassen und der Bassist Christian Weber hinzu. Aus dem Trio wurde Kazanchis +2.

Kontakt:
artlink

Webseite

Robin Thirdfloor

Alternative Hip Hop from Durban


Der in Durban aufgewachsene Robin Thirdfloor lässt seit längerem im Internet und den Radiosendern im südlichen Afrika aufhorchen. Prägnant pulsierende  Tonspuren verbinden sich zu einem einzigartigen Sound, dessen Rezept nur er kennt. Seine kürzlich erschienene EP, ‘Bhotela’ surft durch südafrikanische Rap Styles, um sich brillant davon abzusetzen. Das Resultat ist eine Musik aus Rhytmen und markigen Rhymes mit nahtlosem Flow (auf Englisch und Zulu). Die Kombination von Kwaito (Soweto House music), Hip-Hop und Gqom (Durban House music) steht für die populäre Undergroundkultur von Durban. 

Kontakt:
artlink

Webseite

Siselabonga

Senegal/ Schweiz - Mandingo-Pop
mit Tarang Cissokho (kora), Glauco Cataldo (voc, git), Fabio Meier (perc)


Das junge Trio Siselabonga besteht aus dem Gitarristen und Sänger Glauco Cataldo, dem Perkussionisten Fabio Meier – beide aus der Schweiz – und dem in Dakar lebenden Koraspieler Tarang Cissokho. Auf ihrem Debut-Album „Binte“ trifft die Mandingo-Tradition in verspielter und melodiöser Weise auf Popmusik in Singer-Songwriter-Manier.

Kontakt:
artlink

Webseite

Kala Jula

Mali/ Schweiz
Samba Diabaté (git, ngoni), Vincent Zanetti (kora, git, perc)


Kala Jula ist ein Projekt zwischen Monthey im Wallis und Bamako in Mali: Vicent Zanetti und Samba Diabaté spielen beide Gitarre und pflegen einen sehr raffinierten Sound, der nicht nur Gitarristen begeistert. Ihre Stücke sind geprägt von der Art des Gitarrenspiels, wie es von den Mandinke-Musikern Westafrikas gepflegt wird.

Kontakt:
artlink

Webseite

Meduoteran

Serbien/ Türkei
Taylan Arikan (baglama), Srdjan Vukasinovic (acc)


Meduoteran ist ein Duo, das sich auf die Ausdruckskraft der zwei Instrumente konzentriert und Baglama (anatolische Laute) und Akkordeon Klänge entlockt, die man von diesen kaum erwartet. Wer die beiden Musiker auf der Bühne erlebt, wird von ihrer Virtuosität, ihrem Gespür für zeitgemässe Interpretation traditioneller Melodien und ihrer Spielfreude hingerissen sein. Sie treten auch im Trio oder Quartett auf.

Kontakt:
artlink

Webseite